My Favorite Kicks

I like flip flops.  I like sandals.  I like slippers in the winter when the floor is too cold to caress with bare feet.

When it comes to running, however, I like these bad boys right here.

Adidas Supernova Classics.  I have at least 3 pairs in my possession at any given time.  It’s been this way for the past 8 years or so.

Oh I’ve tried the others.  I’ve listened to the Fleet Feet and Big Peach authorities tell me what I really should be running in, but when it comes down to the bump and grind of the pavement, treadmill, concrete, gravel roads and even root littered trails, these babies have always been good to me.

That temporary affair with minimalist running was just that – temporary – due to a bad case of Peroneal Tendonitis that bit me on the foot .  I parked my Vibrams in the closet and spent at least 3 miles apologizing to my ‘Novas for my lapse in judgement and the brief period of abandonment.  A few beads of sweat were shed and we moved past the hurt and are now as steady as ever in our relationship.  I don’t know what it is about these little boogers but apparently they have a cult following and are laced with crack.  Kidding.  About the crack.  Maybe.

Unlike me,  my 6’1″ husband left his sneakers in the dust without so much as a break-up run and is a big proponent of barefoot running.  He’s already asked if he can guest post on the topic and since he’s pretty awesome I agreed.   Soooo get excited all of you blister trodden, earth loving, “I can run an ultra-marathon in nothing but my skivvies” runners, he’ll be making an appearance soon.

And for all of you Fifty Shades of Naughty fans … Laters Baby.

Leave a Reply

