The Best Black Bean Soup You Will Ever Make

Some people like meatloaf.  Some prefer turkey legs (random?).  Me?  I’m an onions and black beans kinda gal.  Not a big fan of many things meat, my meals often revolve around veggies, grains and legumes.  If you are a die hard Paleo, stop rolling your eyes and hear me out.  After years of digestive issues and trying every fad diet out there, I stumbled upon Food Combining and by golly, it has been the blessing that my body needed.  I fully intend to blog more on that later, but for now, I’m going to share with you a recipe I concocted last night that will send your taste buds into a veggie induced dance party!

It goes something like this:

You put your black beans in, you take the onions out, you put the veggie broth in and you shake it all about…

Seriously though, you have got to try this:

Ingredients

3 cans of low sodium black beans (drained/rinsed)

1 onion

2 cans of veggie broth

A few tablespoons of EVOO

1 cup of Trader Joe’s Salsa

Garlic Salt (a pinch or two, or ten)

 

Only six ingredients?  Yep!  Super simple, super healthy and perfectly combined.

Dice the onion while the olive oil warms up over medium heat in a large frying pan.  Throw in the onion and saute for 15 minutes.  Add the salsa and garlic salt and simmer while you drain and rinse the black beans.  Throw in the black beans (and maybe a tad more garlic salt – yum) and simmer for 20 minutes or so.  Remove from heat and puree in batches (I used a blender).  Return to the pan and let simmer for 15 minutes.  Devour.

I’m not a big picture taker of food, you’d have to go to a culinary blog for that, but I can assure you that it is the most delicious black bean soup I have ever tasted.  Toast a loaf of bread to use for dipping or just enjoy sans grains!

 

Leave a Reply

