The Veggie Chili Of Champions

I’ve eaten 7 bowls of veggie chili in the past three days.  No wait, I just finished my eighth.  Normal?  Probably not, but of all the things I’ve ever claimed to be, normal isn’t one of them.  There’s just something about the warmth steaming up from the bowl, the crispness of the vegetables even after being simmered all afternoon, the tangy tomato sauce and smoky flavor from the teaspoon of unsweetened cocoa that leaves me pining for more.  I enjoy the fact that something so delicious is so healthy, natural, and clean.  Each bite provides my body with an incredible punch of nutrition and I can literally feel it cleansing my intestinal walls like a scrub brush.  It’s like detoxing without starving yourself.  Yum.

 

This particular combination is my current fave and suuuuuuper easy to whip up.  The base of the recipe comes from Anjali over at The Picky Eater Blog with just a few changes:

  • 1 can Kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can Black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can canellinni beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 cup frozen corn (I use white)
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 green bell pepper, diced
  • 1 red onion, diced
  • 1 28 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 1 can of tomato sauce
  • 1 cup vegetable broth (I use low sodium)
  • 1 full tbsp chili powder (2 if no kiddos will be eating it)
  • 1 tsp garlic salt
  • 1 tsp  cocoa powder (unsweetened)
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • A couple splashes of soy sauce
  • 2 tsp brown sugar
  • Black pepper and paprika to taste
Dice/chop up the onions and peppers.  Saute in olive oil for 5 minutes or so while you rinse the beans.  Throw it all into a pot, bring to a boil and simmer for 30 minutes OR, if you are a fan of the slow cooker, throw it all in the crock-pot on low for a couple of hours and get ready to knock your taste buds right off of your tongue!
 
Thank you to Anjali for sharing her recipe and to my girl Megan Mayer for inspiring my quest for the perfect veggie chili!

 

One thought on “The Veggie Chili Of Champions

Leave a Reply

