Lose Yourself (in the music)

“I loved the feeling of freedom in running, the fresh air, the feeling that the only person I’m competing with is me.” – Wilma Rudolph

I’m loading up my mp3 player (yep, I’m one of those weirdos without an iPod) with some new music today.  Some of it is fast and loud, and some a bit mellow and soul clenching.  Usually I reserve my tunes to help me pull out a good workout on the treadmill, as I don’t find much inspiration and motivation on a machine that has me running laps in place, and I burst through my outdoor runs unplugged.  There is something almost magical about running through nature when you can be completely in tune with it.  The sound of the gravel being turned loose by your steady strides, the laughter of a child being carried by the wind from the nearby playground, the rustle of the bushes as a pair of squirrels scamper away from the path.  Often I find comfort in disconnecting myself from all of the noise that assaults my ears and invades my head.  I treasure the time that I can sort my thoughts without interruption and gain inspiration from the scene around me.

Not today.

After a week’s worth of workouts that were gathered inside of the gym, I am beyond elated to burst out from behind the restrictive walls and into the open air.  Upon seeing that the predicted high for today is 70 degrees, my belly flip flopped and I released a quick shout of excitement.  It’s freaking December and I get to hit the pavement in my favorite running shorts and a t-shirt!  After four kickboxing classes (all of which were awesome!), a Vinyassa Flow Yoga class (first timer and totally loved it), and some smack talk with the treadmill last week, I’m excited to release this body out into the wild where it belongs.

Or at least the local park.

Today, however, I’m going to infuse my ears with music that will remove the thoughts bombarding my brain.  I’m going to override all of the  talk and clamor swirling in my head by cranking up the volume on my  headphones and blowing right past the long tailed rodents that I would normally smile and laugh at.  I’m going to tilt my face to the sun instead of saying “hi” to every runner that passes and focus on the beat of the music instead of the splits on my watch.  I’m going to spend an hour not being a mother, daughter, wife or friend.  I’m not going to try and sort my thoughts and come up for a reason and answer to everything.  I’m not going to take the advice of many who would respond to the craziness of life by saying, “Sit still and just be”.  I’m going to lace up, crank the tunes, and run.

I’m going to lose myself in the music and just go.

“You better lose yourself in the music, the moment
You own it, you better never let it go
You only get one shot, do not miss your chance to blow
This opportunity comes once in a lifetime.”

Eminem – Lose Yourself

Leave a Reply

