I Scream, You Scream, We All Scream For … Quinoa Cookies

Quinoa, a grain grown in the Andes Mountains of South America, has become quite the rage in many a kitchen across the US.  Whether embarking on a Vegan journey, looking for a gluten-free substitute, or just curious about the tiny seed that dates back 5,000 years, many people are incorporating quinoa into their everyday recipes.  

Not very familiar with the grain, after reading about its excellent nutritional value, I decided to hop onto the “Hey I’m so cool I cook with Quinoa” bandwagon and my first recipe did not disappoint.  Of course, it would be hard not to enjoy anything that’s made with peanut butter and brown sugar, no?  There are many recipes and entire blogs dedicated to Quinoa, but I whipped up a little recipe typed up on the back of a box of Quinoa Flakes.  Were they all that I had hoped for?  Even more.

Image

The kiddos and husband loved them and after having one I can honestly say I doubt I will ever make the flour kind again.  They were delicious and super easy to make.

I made a couple of changes to the box recipe and this is what I came up with:

1/2 cup pure maple syrup

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup butter

1/2 cup peanut butter 

1/2 teaspoon vanilla 

1 cup brown rice flour 

3/4 cup Quinoa flakes

1 tsp baking soda

Dash of salt

Beat the maple syrup, brown sugar, butter, peanut butter and vanilla until creamy.  Combine rice flour, quinoa flakes, baking soda and salt in a small bowl and then add to the mixture.  Beat until well blended.  Drop rounded teaspoonfuls onto a pan and cook in the pre-heated oven at 325 degrees (if you’re using a dark pan) for 12-15 minutes.  

The original recipe on the box was called Crispy Quinoa Cookies, but with the adjustments I made they came out nice and soft with just a touch of crisp on the bottom.  Perfecto.  

So, if you’re thinking of whipping up a batch of cookies, don’t forget the quinoa!

 

Leave a Reply

